The Plot Blueprint Discussion Forum

User info

Welcome, Guest! Please login or register.

You are here » The Plot Blueprint Discussion Forum » Lesson 2: Know Yourself as a Writer » How Do You Start Writing?

How Do You Start Writing?

Posts 1 to 11 of 11

I like to start with a memory that inspires me to write a scene!

That's interesting! How do you make yourself remember the details (like where you were, what the setting was like, how it felt)? Or do you have to make them up as you write?
I'm not good at getting details in when I first draft something-- I have to "layer" them in later.

I often have scenes "flash" into my mind like they are memories... but they never actually happened to me. They kind of appear like memories, though! I never really connected that experience to memories, but it does feel like that.

Details are not my strong point! I remember the event and write down how it was important or changed my life (or the character’s life) somehow. Then I have to layer in details later, too. I like to think about what started it all – and then I try to remember how and what happened.

For Funny Girl, it all started when Maestro (her friend and her music teacher) challenged here to audition for a dinner theater cabaret show.

When I can’t sleep, and I let my mind freely wander, that’s when I remember details and get the best ideas!!

Me too-- i get my best ideas lying in bed. <G> My most imaginative time is right before I wake up officially, when I'm half-asleep... the subconscious and conscious mind are really joined then and work productively.

The maestro's challenge is the inciting event for Funny Girl! I love a good inciting event. :)